An Active Practioner

I am constantly telling my students that writing is not just an art, it’s a practice. However, I don’t spend time to talk about how active that philosophy is in my own life.  While this is mostly because time simply isn’t forgiving and there is a lot of material to cover, I’ve been thinking about adding my CV/work to Blackboard.  I’m not sure if this will give validity to my teaching, but it will at least be evidence that I “practice what I preach.”  But then, do I?  It’s been a little over a year since I’ve been actively working on a literary analysis or literary based research.  That doesn’t mean I haven’t been writing; I do regularly-ish contribute to Tropics of Meta (mainly as a review of books; the link takes you to the latest one) and I have created many, many teaching resources for my courses.  I am an active blogger on a personal site.  But what does that mean?  In a growing digital age, can active blogger substitute for active writing?  What does it mean that the institution where I am employed requires students to interact via Blackboard, a digital learning environment, but also demands formal papers?  What would be the most effective way to marry an informal, vastly unorganized digital forum with the old standards of the word document paper?  For my part, I think it comes down to effectively teaching students about audience.

But I digress.

I do have an idea for an info-graphic.  I’ll either have to redefine “active practitioner” or start working on some literary research.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflection

Leave a Reply

